With the 144th pick of the 2016 NFL draft, the Denver Broncos select:


Connor McGovern (Missouri, rSr, 6’4’’, 306 lbs): OL

Projected Round My Broncos Big board
3rd – 4th 3rd

General Overview: underestimated prospect that has very good athleticism, very good strength and good footwork. He moves well on the field, has good drive and pulls well in the running game. Has some experience in zone blocking and played both G and LT. Lacks elite explosion and quickness which indicates that he could have trouble blocking speed and quick rushers in the NFL. Looks that may have trouble at times picking up complex defensive audible and blitzes.

My Broncos Evaluation: I really do like what I saw in his videos. He has the athletic skills the Broncos look for and the versatility. Plus he looks to be very strong and having good footwork and awareness capability to execute zone schemes. I think that he could be targeted in the 3rd round by the Broncos, if they will be incredible to me.

My Grade: A+

A perfect fit in a position of need some rounds later than his draft projection. I don’t think that McGovern would start on day one if nor for injuries, but he could provide very good depth as rookie while learning how to use his skills in the NFL and then he could take over a starting spot, most probably at G in his second year.

A great pick.

About this entry