With the 136th pick of the 2016 NFL draft, the Denver Broncos select:


Devontae Booker (Utah, rSr, 5’11”, 219 lbs): RB

Projected Round My Broncos Big board
2nd Not on the Board

General Overview: change of pace type of runner that has some speed but lacks quickness and suddenness to have that spark that makes him run free into open field. Lacks lower body power to propel him past LOS defender with consistency. Has to be more patient behind LOS and try to make something coming out of nothing. Still he runs hard and has been able to get extra yardage after first contact consistently. Does a good enough job in blocking and is quite reliable catcher behind the LOS and not a great one as route runner receiver.

My Broncos Evaluation: I don’t think that under Kubiak the Broncos are in the market for a change of pace back within the first four rounds. A complete back with cutback skills would be but in Booker case I don’t see the Broncos willing to use such and high pick.  He has really good talent and runs hard, just I don’t think the Broncos are in his market.

My Grade: A-

I don’t have him in my board because I thought there won’t be any chance he would be there when Denver would use its compensatory pick in the 4th round.

By selecting him there the Broncos got a very important weapon to couple with CJ Anderson. I don’t know if he’ll replace Ronnie Hillman or if they will share the locker room but they are the same kind of player with the difference that Booker can catch the ball and block much more than Hillman that has experience on his side.

Has a knee situation that is not scaring the Broncos and they did a wonderful job having patience through their board and not selecting him earlier (they said they had a second round grade on him).

Late four rounder for one of the best chance of pace runner in the draft is a pretty good selection.

About this entry