With the 98th pick of the 2016 NFL draft, the Denver Broncos select:


Justin Simmons (Boston College, Sr, 6’2”, 202 lbs): S

Projected Round My Broncos Big board
5th – 6th 4th

General Overview: athletic, aggressive but could be more physical. Has some good explosion and has good speed. Does a quite good job against the run. Lacks top lateral speed and movement.

My Broncos Evaluation: a little underrated at the moment. He has some skills the Broncos covet at the position, quickness and aggressiveness. Lacks elite athletic skills but does a good job in run support and looks solid in tackling. The Broncos own a compensatory pick in the 4th round and might very well use it to select Simmons. He could provide nice depth at SS and learn to play at NFL speed while studying at being a modern S that can cover and play in the box.

My Grade: B-

He is a player that I thought fit quite well what the Broncos look for at a position where depth was needed.

It happens that the Broncos liked him even more than what I thought and took him in the 3rd, which is a round earlier than what I supposed he could be targeted.

This is a quite good selection in terms of depth and quality of the prospect. I had on my Broncos board two much higher ranked players (WR Mitchell and CB DJ White) so I downgraded a bit the grade.

Still all in all a shabby draft by the Broncos up to now, the rest of AFC West is doing marvels and we are really not on the same tune.

Go Broncos!!!

About this entry