With the 28th pick in the 2013 NFL Draft The Denver Broncos select


Sylvester Williams – DT – North Carolina: Sr, 6’3’’, 313 lbs.

My Analysis:

Disruptive penetrator that plays hard both run and passes. Has a really great size for a DT. Has quickness at the snap and power to push his blocker into the backfield. He does a really good job in the running game moving his blocker and using the blocker body to close running lanes.

My Broncos Point of view analysis:

No doubt about that he’s probably the most complete DT in this draft after Lotulelei. He could be still there at 28, so it will be up to Denver FO to go his way or another position. He shows everything needed to succeed in the NFL.

My Post selections take:

I think the Broncos had a 1st round grade on him. Together with Datone Jones and DJ Hayden those were the three players they were hoping to fall to 28th.

Williams is a complete DT that has the body frame and physical skills that the Broncos want to use in their D-line.

He’s unspectacular but really solid and really effective. I guess in the 4-3 alignment he can play both under tackle and nose tackle, and IMO he’s a 3 down lineman in the NFL.

In 2013 he’ll be part of the DTs rotation at least.

I do think that actually the pick is not sexy but is a really good one; he was the best player available in my board where I listed him as one player for which the Broncos could have had to trade 4-5 spots to get him. Three down D-lineman, disruptor player, I’m already looking forward to see him play in orange and blue.

My Final Grade: A-

Aside, finally the Denver Broncos selected a defensive tackle with their first round pick.

About this entry